Much to our disappointment, Scott and I had to pull out of the River Cities Tri. We just were not physically ready to take that on after not having worked out in two months. We went on a 20 mile bike ride the day before the tri and I got sick, not eating healthy will do that to you, and was worn down till the following Monday. It really showed me how much I had lost by not working out for 2 months.

Watching Tonya start and finish each event was so inspiring and got us excited for next year….Scott was looking for a tri for us to do in the fall even before we left Cypress Lake! We are SO proud of Tonya! She was happy throughout the entire event and an encouragement to all! I can’t wait to race with her next year!

So after returning from the tri we were really pumped but knew we needed to start out slowly with our workouts and needed to start eating healthier. I have once again quit drinking Diet Coke. I still LOVE Diet Coke but don’t have a taste for it right now….get back with me in the winter tho….it pairs so well with Crown.  hehe

Anyway…..I do feel better by not drinking it and in turn it makes me want to exercise more. We have been riding on Saturdays with our group and it has been a blast. We do at least 20-30 miles each Saturday, with the group doing 40 miles last weekend but Scott’s knee was really bothering him so we turned around at 16.5 miles. I ordered Rock Tape for Scott after you sent the link, Tonya! So hopefully it will help out.

On Tuesday nights we are taking a spin class. It is one hour of pure HELL. We are taking it at my church so I can just give the instructor go to hell looks and nothing else. I truly do NOT like spin. I am working on eating properly on spin days so I don’t pass out. Yes, I have seen black spots (twice in one class) in my peripheral vision and just barely brought myself out of it. That night after class I laid down on the floor for a good 5 minutes. It takes me an entire day to recover. BUT…..on a higher note…..it is helping me out with my cycling. So I am going to stick with it and go on Thursday nights when they offer it in the winter.

My son, Triston, has joined his schools cross country team so this is propelling us to get out and run again! We have started the couch to 5K program again with my boys and Scott’s kids when they are at his house! I like running with Andrew (6) because we can run slow. Hehe. But I step up to the plate and TRY to keep up with Scott and his LONG legs when the boys head to the house.

I am ready to find some time to add swimming back into the mix. I truly miss it. It’s my favorite 30 minutes in a day. Of course school is going to start back for me next Friday, and it’s going to be tough to work out but I don’t want to lose any that has been gained in the last month.

Tomorrow we are going on a 30 mile ride with our group. There will be some “few long, sustaining hills” as our group leader put it, along with wind gusts, as Tropical Storm Lee rides in to visit us. So wish us luck! We will need it!! 