Last night as I crawled into my bed, so tired from pushing myself with my triathlon training, I recalled a conversation with a co-worker from earlier. She and I were discussing participating in a duathlon this weekend… as a relay team. We’d done it a few years ago and had such a great time. She took on the 2 mile run, I biked the 10 miles and then she ran the last 2 again.

We looked at the registration online but it was terribly expensive for a last minute registrant.

“Shouldn’t you do the whole thing anyway?” she advised.

I really should.

Then, last night, I also remembered an email that had arrived earlier announcing the final day to register for the Disco Triathlon. After making my way back to my laptop, I noticed the Disco Tri is this weekend too. And the cost was similar to the duathlon. And the swim portion is shorter than the upcoming River Cities triathlon in a month.

So, this is what a wild hair feels like, I thought.  Then, I registered.

***

Last Saturday, I pushed myself in a mock triathlon at the gym. I swam 800 meters, rode a spinning bike for an hour and then ran 3 miles on the treadmill. I was happy to be indoors since the temperatures have been over 100 degrees for the past week. However, I still worked up quite a sweat. It was during that last mile on the treadmill that my body said, “Ok, thank you. That’s enough now.”

But my mind wouldn’t allow me to stop.

I’m hurting a bit from that but very proud that I pushed myself. Doing an endurance event takes mental fortitude AND body awareness. I knew I could go further. I simply hadn’t pushed myself that far yet.

I limped around on Sunday but also tried a little “hair of the dog” on Sunday evening – spinning on the bike for 30 minutes. I also swam another 800 meters last night.

***

My swim time seems to be improving. Either that or the pool I’m swimming in is shorter than 25 meters. I’d like to believe the former rather than the latter. I’ll allow myself that much.

I’ve been swimming in the lake a few times in the past few weeks. I do panic more in open water. There’s something about that line on the bottom of the pool that gives me comfort. In order to let go of that, I do some pool laps with my eyes closed. I’ve also been practicing spotting. I know I’m going to have to lift my head occasionally to find the next buoy to swim around.

Still, when I get in the murky water and there’s a wake and/or current, all of that practice goes out of the window. I’ve actually had to practice a mantra while swimming: “Calm”… I repeat it often. I will get out of my head and beat that open water swim. I will do it.

***

My training has been doing at least one 2 mile and one 3 mile run a week. Spinning on the bike for an hour once or twice a week. And swimming 2 – 3 times a week.

Now, I’m kicking it up a notch with this weekend’s tri.

Wish me luck!

