I am sad to say that the training hasn’t been going so well… as in its been non-existence for the last 3 weeks. Scott has been traveling a lot and I am taking a 3 week music appreciation class and a 12 week management class and it has me snowed under. But, with that said…the 3 week class is almost over and it’s time to start back with the program. I don’t even want to think of how little time we have before August 7!

Even though we haven’t been training, my boys and I participated in the Dog Paddle Tri here in Ruston last Saturday. The night before the event Scott and Conner decided to enter as well! I was glad. I was hoping that Scott would do it just to get a taste of how a tri works. I was able to help the boys in transition and by the time it was my turn, I was a little pooped.

Andrew won 2nd place in his age group (5-6).  Scott, Triston & I finished but I don’t know what place. (Conner got sick on the bike portion but he said he wants to actually train for another tri!) I had a personal best in the pool….4:48 for 200m! I was pumped because when I was training I never could break the 5:35 time. As I was about to mount my bike, I heard yelling…and not the good kind…it was “your chain is off!” So I had to fix my chain and then head out. This cost me some time. The hills killed me. I have to just go out and practice riding up and down hills. By the time the run came around, I was beat. And this was just a 1 mile run. I walked 3 ½ of the 4 laps. I never could catch my breath.

Now I need to insert here that the temp was around 100 and heat index was around 104 that day. I was able to run in to the finish line and I was very thankful to be done! Scott came in not long after I did. Neither one of us were able to catch our breath on the run. It was sweltering! I thought for sure that I had beat him this time….but no….he beat me by a minute or so….the same amount of time it took me to put my chain back on!

So yesterday evening I went to the track with a girlfriend and we walked 2 miles with running the straights near the end, and then walked the stairs 7 times. My shins are cussing me today. But it felt GREAT to do something again. Just what I needed to jump start me. Next week it’s back to the grind! I don’t feel like I will be totally prepared for River Cities but I am looking forward to having fun!

