Hello all,

Tammy and I tackled a new path during our run this morning. Typically, we run at the LA Tech track or a jog path at one of the local parks; today we took off from our apartments and ran the road. The path is two miles but has some major hills. Overall, I’m very pleased with our results. We ended up walking a little at the halfway point, right after one of the big hills, and then ran most of the rest. We are going to hit it again tomorrow morning as well.

As I mentioned in my Facebook post, I have been fighting severe shin splints for several weeks now. In the past during our cool down I would start to experience terrible pain about midway down my lower leg and right behind my tibia (the main bone of your lower leg). By the time we would finish our cool down walk and get to the car I could barely walk. I would ice my legs when we got home to ease the pain, but I never could really recover. One of Tammy’s colleagues mentioned shin sleeves as a possible solution so we went to Academy this weekend and I bought a set. Let me tell you, the difference is unbelievable. Today I felt no pain or tightness at all. I am very excited.

Here’s a link to the sleeves I bought. http://www.mcdavidusa.com/store/item.asp?ITEM_ID=83&DEPARTMENT_ID=74

Oh, BTW, we are set to “run” our first 5K this weekend.

